With Broken Hill and sections of regional South Australia joining Mildura/Sunraysia as digital-only TV areas, the permanent removal of analog TV starts to get a move-on.

Over the next three years, the federal government will continue region by region to switch off analog TV services. That means if you’re using an old analog TV, you’ll need to purchase a digital set-top box to continue watching free-to-air television.

Here’s the complete government timetable as it stands now for regional changeover:

Type Switchover Area Major centres Window
VIC Mildura/Sunraysia Mildura 30 June 2010
SA Broken Hill Broken Hill 15 December 2010
SA Riverland Renmark and Loxton 15 December 2010
SA Mt Gambier/South East South Australia Mt Gambier, Naracoorte and Bordertown 15 December 2010
SA Spencer Gulf Port Lincoln, Whyalla, Port Augusta 15 December 2010
VIC Gippsland Traralgon, Bairnsdale and Malacoota 5 May 2011
VIC North Central Victoria Bendigo and Swan Hill 5 May 2011
VIC South West Victoria Ballarat, Warrnambool and Horsham 5 May 2011
VIC Goulburn Valley/Upper Murray Albury/Wodonga, Wangaratta and Shepparton 5 May 2011
QLD Wide Bay Hervey Bay, Bundaberg and Maryborough 2nd Half 2011
QLD Capricornia Rockhampton, Emerald and Yeppoon 2nd Half 2011
QLD QLD Central Coast and Whitsundays Mackay, Proserpine and Bowen 2nd Half 2011
QLD Darling Downs Toowoomba, Warwick and Dalby 2nd Half 2011
QLD North Queensland Townsville, Ayr and Charters Towers 2nd Half 2011
QLD Far North Queensland Cairns, Port Douglas and Innisfail 2nd Half 2011
NSW Griffith/Murrumbidgee Irrigation Area Griffith and Hay 1st Half 2012
NSW South West Slopes and Eastern Riverina Wagga Wagga and Gundagai 1st Half 2012
NSW Illawarra and the South Coast Wollongong, Ulladulla and Eden 1st Half 2012
NSW Central Tablelands and Central Western Slopes Dubbo, Orange and Mudgee 1st Half 2012
NSW ACT and Southern Tablelands Canberra, Thredbo and Cooma 1st Half 2012
NSW North West Slopes and Plains Tamworth, Armidale and Inverell 2nd Half 2012
NSW Richmond/Tweed Byron Bay, Tenterfield and Lismore 2nd Half 2012
NSW Northern Rivers Coffs Harbour, Forster and Grafton 2nd Half 2012
NSW Hunter Newcastle, Port Stephens 2nd Half 2012
Metro Tasmania Hobart, Launceston and King Island 1st Half 2013
Metro Perth Perth 30 June 2013
Metro Brisbane Brisbane, Gold Coast and Noosa 30 June 2013
Metro Melbourne Melbourne 31 December 2013
Metro Adelaide Adelaide 31 December 2013
Metro Sydney Sydney and Gosford 31 December 2013
Remote Regional and Remote Western Australia Kalgoorlie, Broome and Bunbury 2nd Half 2013
Remote Remote Central & Eastern Australia Darwin, Alice Springs and Mt Isa 2nd Half 2013

Similar Posts:

Clip to Evernote